Bay Area Houston Ballet & Theatre (home page)
About Us Performances Special Events Outreach Tickets Contact Us Support Us Scholarships BAHBT Home Page
BAHBT Scholarship/Endowment Council
Helen Mason Scholarship

For over 40 years, the BAHBT Scholarship/ Endowment Council has assisted dancers by expanding their dance training beyond the studios in Houston.

The current program consists of four weeks in New York City, where up to 8 dancers selected by an outside panel of judges are chosen to participate in programs at prestigious dance schools such as Joffrey Ballet, Broadway Dance Center, STEPS, Alvin Ailey, American Ballet Theatre, and School of American Ballet. The Scholarship Council awards the Helen Mason Scholarship named in memory of BAHBT founder Lynette Mason Gregg's mother to the highest scoring dancer which provides this dancer a full scholarship for the four week program.

In addition to the intense training that the students receive–the dancers are immersed in the culture and education that New York City has to offer, visiting such sites as The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building, Chinatown, Radio City Music Hall and Fifth Avenue. They attend a variety of Broadway shows and professional dance and music performances at famed theatres such as Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall.

The scholarship group will be staying in The New School dormitories again this year. Housed in each apartment, there will be up to four students, one chaperone, and one chaperone guest.

The BAHBT Scholarship/Endowment Fund was established to allow Ms. Lynette’s legacy to continue for generations to come. We thank our generous sponsors and donors who have made dreams come true. For more information regarding donating to the Endowment Fund please contact Jennifer Ball at 832-397-0321.



Donate to the Scholarship fund at:
BAHBT Scholarship/Endowment Fund
Bay Area Houston Ballet & Theatre
PO Box 580466
Houston, TX 77258


Jacqueline Kopra

2013-2014 Helen Mason
Scholarship Recipient
Jacqueline Kopra


2012-2013 Scholarship Recipients

BAHBT Scholarship/Endowment Council proudly presents
the 2012-2013 Scholarship recipients:

2012-2013 Scholarship Recipients

Back: Jenna Westall, Bailey Breaux, Katarina Tomasic
Front: Elizabeth Fosdick, Jacqueline Kopra, Stephanie Frase

5th Runner up The Ayman Aaron Harper Scholarship - Katarina Tomasic
4th Runner up The Kevin Cahoon Scholarship - Stephanie Frase
3th Runner up The Jessica Lu Scholarship - Bailey Breaux
2nd Runner up The Miral Kotb Scholarship - Jenna Westall
1st Runner up The Makenzie Stocker Memorial Scholarship - Elizabeth Fosdick
Helen Mason Scholarship - Jacqueline Kopra


Home  :  About Us  :  Performances  :  Special Events  :  Outreach

Tickets  :  Scholarships  :  Support Us  :  Contact Us